Customer reviews for Oreck® Steam-It®

Oreck® Steam-It®

Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating:
3.273 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
15
29 out of 53(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oreck® Steam-It®
Review 1 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Non-Toxic Cleaning Solution I Can Trust

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
anationofmoms
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because we have small tots and dogs, and I stopped using harsh chemicals to clean our homes a long time ago. I had been using mostly combinations of Dr. Bronner’s soap, water, baking soda, and/or vinegar to clean the majority of our home. But in my perfect world, it would be nice to get even more basic than that and still have the reassurance that things were getting clean. So, the Oreck Steam-It was naturally a good fit for my family. Besides, with my slight OCD tendencies, I spend about 2 hours cleaning our tile floors – scrubbing then wiping by hand the whole way. Anything that could help me out and take less time was surely welcomed! The dry steam means no damp mess – my tile floors were dry within a couple of minutes!
If you do want to use the Steam-It on a regular basis or to clean most of your home, I do recommend either buying more microfiber cloths or using your own towels (it comes with universal clips, making it easy to use your own desired cleaning cloths).
It’s as simple as it can get – put in desired attachment, fill the reservoir with water using the included funnel, plug it in, turn the power and steam switches, wait a few seconds for it to heat up (the manual says 1 minute, but my green indicator light takes about 30 seconds), and then start cleaning.
NOTES:
Filling up the water reservoir was easy enough with the provided funnel; however, in case you lose the funnel, I also did this without using it just as fast. I used up a full tank (1 liter) in about 45 minutes.
It’s very easy to clip in the microfiber cloths – and they stay put!
The Steam-It has a dial to regulate the amount of steam – from low to high. I wish that the dial were on top rather than on the side of the handle, as my hand has a natural tendency to slide down there and accidentally turn the dial when in use.
It is easy to maneuver and is super lightweight – less than 10 pounds when filled with water. (If a 9-month pregnant woman can use it, then so can you!)
Because it is extremely quiet, I can do quick cleaning sessions when my kids are napping in the next room.
It works upside-down without spillage for above floor cleaning. However, it’s hard to use it overhead without it running out of steam (literally), because the water is not where it needs to be in order for the steam to be activated. This can be quickly remedied if you put it back down on the ground for a few seconds every time it runs out of steam.
There was a lot less scrubbing (and time) involved. Normally a 2 hour job for me took just 25 minutes from start to finish.
Because it dries almost instantly, I have no more oodles of wet towels to wash after I’m done with my tile floors. And I don’t have to worry about my kids slipping on wet surfaces.
Thumbs up in the bathroom – I could have kept going! It was effective and very easy to use on grout, tubs, sinks, and fixtures. It didn’t remove every trace of our hard water stains, but my fixtures have never looked so nice.
When cleaning the windows, even on the lowest steam setting, more steam was put out than was needed. I allowed some windows to air dry and some I towel dried quickly. Both sets of windows looked fine and streak-free. If you have small windows and the squeegee attachment is too big, you can just use the steam nozzle without the squeegee, and then use the squeegee by hand or just paper towels to wipe it up.
Final Thoughts: Oh, Steam-It, you have made my life so simple and yet so difficult at the same time. Why? Because now I have NO EXCUSE not to clean certain things in my home a lot more often. It’s just too simple.
No more worrying about how both of my children like to lay across the tile floor, my 20 month old likes to pick up and eat food she dropped, and how both of them like to sit in the shower playing with all the cracks and crevices.
Prosversatile - can use it almost anywhere!, non-toxic non-chemical clean, saves me money (no chemicals to buy), simple to use (even our 4 year old can do it), super quiet (okay to use when babies are sleeping, easily melts away stubborn stains
Consno storage bag for attachments, regulator dial in bad spot, needs longer cord
Yes, I recommend this product.
+46points
52of 58voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read 1 comment
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRuss
 
Please wait while more information about Russ is loaded.
Additional information about Russ could not be loaded.
onJune 18, 2012
Thanks for a fantastic review! Very detailed and useful.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read 1 comment
Review 2 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stopped Working

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I liked this product while it worked, it was easy to use and did a decent job. But after 19 months of only using it a little once a week it stopped steaming. The green light wouldn't come on and no steam would come out. It is no longer under warranty so I either take it to an Oreck store for an expensive repair or buy a new steam mop. When you pay almost $200 it really should last a lot longer. Disappointed.
Prosease of use
Consdidn't last
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked just long enough to void the warranty.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product worked great until it wouldn't steam anymore - about 1 month after the warranty ran out. It was used very lightly for hardwood floors and some tile. I will not purchase and Oreck product again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in the steam mop

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a true Oreck customer - my vacuums, air purifiers, and all products from glass cleaner to carpet cleaner. All wonderful products. Last year, I bought the steam mop. I had a Bissel steam mop for over 4 years and it worked great. I decided to make a change and buy the Oreck steam mop. Very disappointed - it stopped working 4 months after the 1 year warranty was up. They don't do any repairs on the steamer - you basically have to buy a new one. I would think a steam mop would work longer than 16 months. Very disappointed in the product and Oreck for not standing behind their products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this product is not durable

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned Oreck products for more than 35 years and so I chose the " steam it" steamer 2 years ago because of the products I have purchased. The steamer has just now been taken away by the trash haulers. It was used only once a week and it is already broken. Called the distributor who suggested it might be clogged, following his advice, I checked for a clog but it was the main steam element that was bad. I cannot tell you how disappointed I am with this product, to the point that I will most likely never buy another Oreck product again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great at cleaning tile floors

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
I've had competitors' steam cleaners but this one is by far the best.
The ease of attaching the cleaning pads to the bottom, being able to use a regular cleaning rag if you desire which is held in place by the rocker holders on each side. The mop, I believe, reaches 140 degrees and cleans so wonderfully all our tile floor. It may appear it puts down more water than others, but do not despair as the water is so hot that it will evaporate shortly. With more water it does a much better cleaning job than competitors who use mostly steam but hardly any water vapors. The cleaner is intended for other chores, eg. windows, etc, but I would not use it for this as the unit is quite heavy if you have to lift it to around waist level and keep it at an angle. Not practical, but for the floor it is wonderful.
Proscleans tile floors squeaking clean, easy to fill, fairly easy to push, nice hot steam, refill pads are inexpensive
Constoo impractical to use for other suggested uses
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made and not durable

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Device heavy and awkward to use. The button on the side which elevates or lowers the steam setting fell off after the second use. I used this product about 4 times then it quit. Overpriced for a piece of junk. I relied on the Oreck name for quality but this failed miserably.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Oreck Steam It Mop did have very hot steam and was effective in
removing dirt and grime. However, I have had 2 new machines in 18 months. The first one was defective and was replaced in less
then 1 year. The second one developed a problem where the
steam was not coming thru the steam head. I was informed that
the steam head needed replacement. I purchased the part.
Approximately 3 weeks later while using the steam mop, the
steam head literally ripped away from wand. I took it to the
Oreck store and the machine was examined. I was told that the
boiler had caused this problem, it was not repairable and no longer
under warranty. Very disappointed in the quality of this product
and that the second machine was 1 yr and days old when it broke.
Oreck said that was out of warranty. Also, preparing to replace
my Oreck vacuum that is over 20 years old. The store
carries a limited inventory. So, I was requested to prepay in
order to assure that I would get a vacuum. No confidence with
this company.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good value

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Got this a couple of years ago...I was very excited about cleaning with steam but it is very awkward, mainly because of its heaviness. Heats up super fast but I find it only works when pushing forward. It does not stay on the floor when pulling toward you. Also, I see now that it is NOT recommended for laminate floors but that was one of the reasons I purchased it. The salesman at the Oreck store even demonstrated on laminate flooring. I am fairly tall and when I finished the kitchen, dining, bathroom and large hallway, my back was killing me, not to mention I was worn out because of the weight of the mop. Also, it does not fit behind or beside the toilet or the pedestal sink. After tax I paid close to $200 for it and feel it isn't even worth half that. I would not recommend this product because of all the negatives and the high cost.
Prosheats up quickly, cleans good except in corners and along edges
Constoo bulky and heavy, cord not long enough, needs some sort of bag for attachments
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love my new steam cleaner!! I only wish I would have bought it sooner. I have a wood floor in my kitchen and it cleans up beautifully with only steam. I used to wash with vinegar and water, it would smudge up so easily. It stays cleaner longer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! I am impressed!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Steam-It today, came home and immediately used it. I wanted this product in order to clean the dirty grout between my tiles. After some experimentation I found that the best method was to steam clean the grout first, using the small grout tool. Using this tool cleans the grout very well, and there is dirty water left over (remember, there is no suction). Once the grout was cleaned, I went back and steam cleaned the floor with the regular cleaning attachment - this process cleaned up the residue from the grout cleaning. The result was a sparkling clean floor and grout that has never been so clean. It is easy to handle and use, so I will do this process regularly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A waste of money!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have only used it once. We do not like it at all. I have better results cleaning the floor manually. We did not need to spend this money for something we just tried and have not used anymore. It dos not even dry well the wood floor.
A waste of money!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I bought this about 8 months ago and used it just a few times before it broke. Not worth the money. My floors looked streaky when it did work.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This steamer only was only used about 8 times. It doesn't turn on anymore. My tile floors looked streaky when I used the steam mop and always looked better when I scrubbed them by hand. The attachments for the grout did not work at all. Would not recommend this to anyone. Now I have an 8 month old broken steamer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Steam it

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
taken
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this steamer for awhile. My daughter got it for me. But I really never had any reason to use it. I have only used it maybe 6 times on my title floor. Today I went to use it and It didn't work called customer service and they told me to take it to a oreck dealer it was most likely the pump. and it was over a year old. so I would have to pay to have it working again.So I would not recommend this if it only last for at the most 6 uses
it is too expensive.
Consits all plasticdont last
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE this steam cleaner!!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
cleanqueen
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This steamer works better on my textured porcelain floor than any product I've tried. The steam is adjustable so I can do light cleaning or clean up the worst my 2 large dogs can track in. The handle is long enough (thank you, Mr. Oreck!) that my back doesn't take a beating and the extra long cord is wonderful. The little funnel is not super efficient but I just used another larger one. The nubbies on the pad did a great job getting into the rough surfaces and the pad washed up very well.
Prossuper cleaning power, long cord, long handle
Constiny little funnel
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I find this product very awkward to use.

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Nanny2
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The cord is very heavy to pull around when using the steamer. Every time I use it I have to unclog the spray nozzle, which is hard to remove. The awkwardness of the entire unit makes it difficult to use the attachments. My previous steamer only lasted 2 years so I thought buying a good brand would be better. I was wrong.
Consawkward to use, spray nozzle clogs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Durability Mega Issues

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer avatar
PJPJ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Steam it works find until it gets stopped up, and it is no longer useful. I tried numerous time to unstop the unit. I took it to the Oreck store in Lewisville Texas. . The nice young man did unstop it for me, but it was short lived, and I once again tried to unstop the unit to no avail. Yes I use distill water, and the sad part is I never got my money worth out of it. I also bought the accessories. I am going to give it one more try, and if it does not work, then it will go in the trash.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay Away

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
rlew
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
It does work well on tile and grout, except the small nozzle will melt and is worthless. Does not work on anything else without an extreme amount of effort. I have tried different cloths to make this thing do what I hoped it would. Unfortunately, I used it the first time and was so disappointed that I put it in a closet till way past the warranty because I thought I'd pick it up another day and try again. I did pick it up and tried again several times, and I gave up. My mother ordered this from from QVC for herself, and I told her to cancel the order since this thing is so awkward and heavy for me, she would hate it. Plus, it does not work except on tile. I tried it on a pet stain on carpet, and no surprise to me, it failed again. Would not recommend to anyone. I have at least 6 Oreck items and I am a big fan! But stay away from this one!
Prosnothing
Consheavy, awkward, does not work except for tile
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worthy of the Oreck name

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Cindy1218
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst product I ever bought. The steam head melted off after 6 months, burning my daughters hand. The local store replaced it but that one lasted only 5-1/2 months before the head melted off. I asked the clerk if I had a year warranty on the third unit. She said no, I only had 2 weeks left on my original warranty. The 3rd unit has only been used about 15 times and the pump has stopped pumping water to the heater. I have had 3 units and not one has lasted for a year. No matter because the warranty is on length of time since original purchase NOT on the product!
Proscleans really well.
Consinferior qualty
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lasted 15 months and switch broke and could not be repaired.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Joan
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
I was so pleased with the results with the steam mop. I've had it 15months with not a lot of use...maybe once a week I do the floors, maybe not. Problems came with the machine in that the O ring was busted and I had to order a new one immediately. Fifteen months later it's still working fine but the switch is busted and I can't turn on the steam part. I called corporate to find out about replacing the switch and was referred to their repair place in Houston. They don't have the part and cannot get the part. Apparently when the switch goes...so does the Steam It...right into the trash. Oreck didn't offer me anything...the warranty was up. Since this isn't my first Oreck product, I expected some type of customer service and got none. I'm not very happy. It's too much $ for the length of service especially since it is still working...if I could turn it on.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read 1 comment
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJoan
 
Please wait while more information about Joan is loaded.
Additional information about Joan could not be loaded.
onJanuary 28, 2013
I wrote the review when I was pretty upset that it couldn't be repaired. I should add that I did buy another one and Oreck gave me a reduced price when I asked for it. I like what it does but it is clumsy to use up high but it is excellent on old vinyl floors. I will always have a steam mop...but depending on how this second one works...not sure what brand.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read 1 comment
1 2 3 next>>