Customer reviews for Oreck® Steam-It®

Oreck® Steam-It®

Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating:
2.942 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
11
1 Star
23
30 out of 66(45%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oreck® Steam-It®
Review 1 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Non-Toxic Cleaning Solution I Can Trust

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
anationofmoms
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because we have small tots and dogs, and I stopped using harsh chemicals to clean our homes a long time ago. I had been using mostly combinations of Dr. Bronner’s soap, water, baking soda, and/or vinegar to clean the majority of our home. But in my perfect world, it would be nice to get even more basic than that and still have the reassurance that things were getting clean. So, the Oreck Steam-It was naturally a good fit for my family. Besides, with my slight OCD tendencies, I spend about 2 hours cleaning our tile floors – scrubbing then wiping by hand the whole way. Anything that could help me out and take less time was surely welcomed! The dry steam means no damp mess – my tile floors were dry within a couple of minutes!
If you do want to use the Steam-It on a regular basis or to clean most of your home, I do recommend either buying more microfiber cloths or using your own towels (it comes with universal clips, making it easy to use your own desired cleaning cloths).
It’s as simple as it can get – put in desired attachment, fill the reservoir with water using the included funnel, plug it in, turn the power and steam switches, wait a few seconds for it to heat up (the manual says 1 minute, but my green indicator light takes about 30 seconds), and then start cleaning.
NOTES:
Filling up the water reservoir was easy enough with the provided funnel; however, in case you lose the funnel, I also did this without using it just as fast. I used up a full tank (1 liter) in about 45 minutes.
It’s very easy to clip in the microfiber cloths – and they stay put!
The Steam-It has a dial to regulate the amount of steam – from low to high. I wish that the dial were on top rather than on the side of the handle, as my hand has a natural tendency to slide down there and accidentally turn the dial when in use.
It is easy to maneuver and is super lightweight – less than 10 pounds when filled with water. (If a 9-month pregnant woman can use it, then so can you!)
Because it is extremely quiet, I can do quick cleaning sessions when my kids are napping in the next room.
It works upside-down without spillage for above floor cleaning. However, it’s hard to use it overhead without it running out of steam (literally), because the water is not where it needs to be in order for the steam to be activated. This can be quickly remedied if you put it back down on the ground for a few seconds every time it runs out of steam.
There was a lot less scrubbing (and time) involved. Normally a 2 hour job for me took just 25 minutes from start to finish.
Because it dries almost instantly, I have no more oodles of wet towels to wash after I’m done with my tile floors. And I don’t have to worry about my kids slipping on wet surfaces.
Thumbs up in the bathroom – I could have kept going! It was effective and very easy to use on grout, tubs, sinks, and fixtures. It didn’t remove every trace of our hard water stains, but my fixtures have never looked so nice.
When cleaning the windows, even on the lowest steam setting, more steam was put out than was needed. I allowed some windows to air dry and some I towel dried quickly. Both sets of windows looked fine and streak-free. If you have small windows and the squeegee attachment is too big, you can just use the steam nozzle without the squeegee, and then use the squeegee by hand or just paper towels to wipe it up.
Final Thoughts: Oh, Steam-It, you have made my life so simple and yet so difficult at the same time. Why? Because now I have NO EXCUSE not to clean certain things in my home a lot more often. It’s just too simple.
No more worrying about how both of my children like to lay across the tile floor, my 20 month old likes to pick up and eat food she dropped, and how both of them like to sit in the shower playing with all the cracks and crevices.
Prosversatile - can use it almost anywhere!, non-toxic non-chemical clean, saves me money (no chemicals to buy), simple to use (even our 4 year old can do it), super quiet (okay to use when babies are sleeping, easily melts away stubborn stains
Consno storage bag for attachments, regulator dial in bad spot, needs longer cord
Yes, I recommend this product.
+53points
62of 71voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read 1 comment
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRuss
 
Please wait while more information about Russ is loaded.
Additional information about Russ could not be loaded.
onJune 18, 2012
Thanks for a fantastic review! Very detailed and useful.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read 1 comment
Review 2 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 7, 2016
Customer avatar
kswrob
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
I purchased the steam-it in May of 2015....I used the steam-it less than two to three times a week, loved the product when it works. I have exchanged it 4 times due to the motor sounds like it's running but no water is coming out. The last time I took it back to the store I was told that they now have a part to fix it, still waiting to get the product back! I have used Oreck vacuums for 20 years and never been disappointed in any of the products until now.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy KarissaCustomer CareApril 27, 2016
Hi kswrob! We don’t want you to feel disappointed in your Steam-It®. We want to help. For optimum performance we recommend cleaning the Steam Generator every 12-15 uses. This will help to prevent mineral buildup. Please give this a try:

1. Twist the steam nozzle to release and pull upwards to remove completely from the steam chamber.
2. Insert the nozzle brush into the chamber and rotate the brush while pulling in and out.
4. Attach the steam nozzle back into the chamber and turn it clockwise
to lock.

For visual aid with these tasks you can follow along in the manual here:
http://bit.ly/1RzOKlD. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-989-3535 (M-F 8a-6p CST). We’re here for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

does not last!

PostedApril 6, 2016
Customer avatar
marie
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product worked fine for 2 years and then died. I thought that by buying an Oreck I would be buying a quality made product but I was wrong. It worked well when it worked but for the price, it is so disapointing to buy something that stopped working so soon. I used only distilled water and did not use it daily. Shocking that such a shoddy product is being sold by this company. I hope the company listens to it's customers and fixes this problem, but I won't bet any of my money on it. Stay away.
Prossteam was hot
Consdid not last and cost was high
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy KarissaCustomer CareApril 27, 2016
Hi marie! We don’t want you to feel disappointed in your Steam-It® and want to assure you quality is an important aspect of our products. We want to help. For optimum performance we recommend cleaning the Steam Generator every 12-15 uses. Please give this a try:

1. Twist the steam nozzle to release and pull upwards to remove completely from the steam chamber.
2. Insert the nozzle brush into the chamber and rotate the brush while pulling in and out.
4. Attach the steam nozzle back into the chamber and turn it clockwise
to lock.

For visual aid with these tasks you can follow along in the manual here:
http://bit.ly/1RzOKlD. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-989-3535 (M-F 8a-6p CST). We’re here for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

so disappointed

PostedMarch 31, 2016
Customer avatar
Mary121
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've just cut the cord on my second, yes 2nd, Oreck Steam-It, and placed the entire thing in my trash can.
I used the first one just over a year, then the motor burned out, tried to get it repaired an an Oreck dealer (not repairable) so I bought a new one. Now I'm 13 months into owning the 2nd one and the same thing has happened. Apparently it works until it doesn't. And that seems to be a milli-second after any warranty might replace the product.
No more Orecks for me.
I'm disappointed and feel foolish to have spent close to $400 for the two steamers. I'm going to buy a Swiffer Wet Jet.
Prosit did a good job when it worked
Consdurability
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy KarissaCustomer CareApril 13, 2016
Hi Mary121! We don't want you to feel disappointed in your Oreck. Your Steam-It® should last longer than this. We want to help. For optimum performance we recommend cleaning the Steam Generator every 12-15 uses. Please give this a try:

1. Twist the steam nozzle to release and pull upwards to remove completely from the steam chamber.
2. Insert the nozzle brush into the chamber and rotate the brush while pulling in and out.
4. Attach the steam nozzle back into the chamber and turn it clockwise
to lock.

For visual aid with these tasks you can follow along in the manual here:
http://bit.ly/1RzOKlD. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-989-3535 (M-F 8a-6p CST). We’re here for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Expensive junk!

PostedMarch 6, 2016
Customer avatar
Rickrod
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just over a year old and no more steam. Only used distilled water in it.
used on average twice a month.
Rate is as expensive junk.
Prosease of use
Consdid not last long
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy KarissaCustomer CareMarch 9, 2016
Hi Rickrod! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. Your Oreck® Steam-It® should last longer than this. We want to help. For optimum performance we recommend cleaning the Steam Generator every 12-15 uses. Please give this a try:

1. Twist the steam nozzle to release and pull upwards to remove completely from the steam chamber.
2. Insert the nozzle brush into the chamber and rotate the brush while pulling in and out.
4. Attach the steam nozzle back into the chamber and turn it clockwise
to lock.

For visual aid with these tasks you can follow along in the manual here:
http://bit.ly/1RzOKlD. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-989-3535 (M-F 8a-6p CST). We’re here for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What A Waste Of Money!

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband bought this for me as a Christmas gift on Black Friday, so I have had it too long to take it back. I am so sorry I ever even thought of wanting this. It's very hard to push, it's hard to get the pad on, it's hard to fill and hard to drain. I have an Oreck vacuum that I love, but I will never waste my money on anything but a vacuum from Oreck ever again!!
Prosnothing
Conshard to push, hard to put on pad, hard to fill, hard to drain, user manual is a waste of paper
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I would recommend to look at others

PostedJanuary 20, 2016
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was excited when I first got the steam mop but they really doesn't work like I would like. The pads are near impossible to put on so they need a little bit more give I had a whole bunch of shark pads and they are not compatible. You have to clean the sprout every few uses, even though I am using purified water. While steaming its easy to move the heat selector from the desired heat which could damage your floors.
The only thing I like is the spot cleaner it's good for grout, but the spot brush is cheap and won't even last through one cleaning. I have a very small bathroom and found more effective to scrub with a brush.
The cord is much shorter than other steam mops so I have to constantly unplug it then plug it elsewhere to cover my home. My previous ones I could steam my whole house in 15 minutes. This one takes me 30-40, and that isn't even all the floors.
Sorry I bought it. I miss my Hoover.
Prosgrout cleaning
Consthe pads are hard to put on, cord is too short, spot cleaner bristles don't last long, have to use their pads
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great before parts break

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Bought in January '14 and lasted to March '15 before plastic parts in head broke. Can't replace the head because "out of stock", guess it happens a lot if Oreck can't keep the replacement parts in stock. the retractable scrubber hits the tube from the ball joint to the steam tube, bad design. Hopefully I can find a new head somewhere. Had I know this was a "disposable" product I would not have purchased. I cannot recommend this product. I liked the performance when it worked.
Proswork wells
Consplastic parts break, parts hard to replace out of stock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great product when it worked

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I own several Oreck products and have been very pleased with the quality of the items I purchased, until I bought the Steam-it. Initially, I was very happy with how well it cleaned my floors. However, after a year of use, the steam nozzle stopped putting out steam through the head and the steam began to escape from the area where it connected to the handle. After doing some research, I learned that this is a common problem with the head nozzle. Needless to say, it was out of warranty and I will have to find a product that is more sturdy and will last longer than 1 years. I do not recommend this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable and easy to use

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been using this machine for 3 years, it has never let me down. I owned 2 other types of steam floor cleaners and had nothing but problems with them clogging up. This has never had that issue, I use distilled water and make sure to dump the chamber when I am finished. I use the pads I bought at Oreck, the floors come out squeeky clean!! We have large dogs with all marble and tile floors in our 2000 sq ft house and this unit works great! I highly recommend this product - we love it!!
Prosdependability, easy to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke after one year

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My steam mop broke after one year. My hand held vacuum was broken on delivery and returned to the store. Now I have to return my steam mop. Very disappointed with Oreck products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Product

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We bought the Steam Mop because we believed the would be a good investment. This has turn out to be the worst purchase we have made in a very long time. The brushes to clean grout do not last and we had to keep buying more and after about one year of use, and we only used it to clean the wood floors in the living room and the grout in the tile floor, the whole tip just melted away in small, tiny pieces making the unit useless. So do not waste your money. trying something else, this is not worth the money
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks only are sturdy

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this.
We bought and used about 3 times and then it rotted and broke from the joint at the lower end. Did not expect this from Oreck!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too large, poor quality

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was my first steam vac. I had it 1 month and the cap over the tank, cracked and broke off. Oreck sent me a new steam it, I had to package the old one up and return first. The new one worked ok, for just a few months. Then the cap over the water tank cracked and beoke off completely. There is only the two of us, so I used it maybe 2 x a month, and it stopped working completely. I gave up and tossed the machine.
Conseverything
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this product did not last long

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the head broke on this just after the one year warranty.. if there was one. i ordered a new one and it never really worked the same. alot of money for something that broke so soon. worked well when it did I bought a spin mop use hot bleach water and it works great.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stopped Working

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I liked this product while it worked, it was easy to use and did a decent job. But after 19 months of only using it a little once a week it stopped steaming. The green light wouldn't come on and no steam would come out. It is no longer under warranty so I either take it to an Oreck store for an expensive repair or buy a new steam mop. When you pay almost $200 it really should last a lot longer. Disappointed.
Prosease of use
Consdidn't last
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked just long enough to void the warranty.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product worked great until it wouldn't steam anymore - about 1 month after the warranty ran out. It was used very lightly for hardwood floors and some tile. I will not purchase and Oreck product again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in the steam mop

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a true Oreck customer - my vacuums, air purifiers, and all products from glass cleaner to carpet cleaner. All wonderful products. Last year, I bought the steam mop. I had a Bissel steam mop for over 4 years and it worked great. I decided to make a change and buy the Oreck steam mop. Very disappointed - it stopped working 4 months after the 1 year warranty was up. They don't do any repairs on the steamer - you basically have to buy a new one. I would think a steam mop would work longer than 16 months. Very disappointed in the product and Oreck for not standing behind their products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this product is not durable

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned Oreck products for more than 35 years and so I chose the " steam it" steamer 2 years ago because of the products I have purchased. The steamer has just now been taken away by the trash haulers. It was used only once a week and it is already broken. Called the distributor who suggested it might be clogged, following his advice, I checked for a clog but it was the main steam element that was bad. I cannot tell you how disappointed I am with this product, to the point that I will most likely never buy another Oreck product again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oreck® Steam-It®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great at cleaning tile floors

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
I've had competitors' steam cleaners but this one is by far the best.
The ease of attaching the cleaning pads to the bottom, being able to use a regular cleaning rag if you desire which is held in place by the rocker holders on each side. The mop, I believe, reaches 140 degrees and cleans so wonderfully all our tile floor. It may appear it puts down more water than others, but do not despair as the water is so hot that it will evaporate shortly. With more water it does a much better cleaning job than competitors who use mostly steam but hardly any water vapors. The cleaner is intended for other chores, eg. windows, etc, but I would not use it for this as the unit is quite heavy if you have to lift it to around waist level and keep it at an angle. Not practical, but for the floor it is wonderful.
Proscleans tile floors squeaking clean, easy to fill, fairly easy to push, nice hot steam, refill pads are inexpensive
Constoo impractical to use for other suggested uses
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>