Customer reviews for Oreck SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Oreck.

Oreck SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo

HL Oreck Magnesium Vacuum Cleaner
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
Review 1 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been a loyal Oreck owner for more than 20 years. 5 years ago, I purchased the pilot. It certainly has not been the same experience with this new "upgraded" product.
I owned the older, basic model for approx. 15 years and never had any
problems or issues with that model.
Since owning the Pilot, it feels like one thing after another. Now, after purchasing this product, today the representatives in the store tell me it is not meant for thick carpet. I didn't think I had thick carpet, it is all berber carpet and a few area rugs. None of them I believe are thick.
Website does not state that the pilot cannot be used on thick carpet or that the belts should be changed every 6 months as the Oreck representative at the store indicated.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Vacumm Hard to push on carpet

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Oreck XL vacuum cleaner so hard to push?
The product info states that ease of MOVEMENT, which I do not have.
It picks things up just fine and I have no problem vacuuming on my hardwood, tile and area rugs. The problem is when I vacuum my wall to wall carpeting, VERY hard to push.
Oreck repair store from Braintree MA told me the vacuum was functioning normally.
I should get my money back....
Proslight weight
Conshard to push on wall to wall carpet
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hate the handheld, love the upright

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
yaprak
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We love the upright vacuum but not the handheld. I wish it was all in one. The handheld is impossible to use the attachments never stay attached and comes off over and over again when trying to vacuum. Also it is very short.
Prosthe upright
Consthe handheld
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is flimsy

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
14trees
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The vacum is overpriced. The design is O.K. But the durability is substandard. I'v had to rebuild the roller a couple of times and today the handle felloff. The plastic retainer pins shattered.
A replacement part doesn't seem to be an option.
Consdurability
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy Jeremiah GrahamWeb MarketingNovember 7, 2012
I'm sorry to hear you have had several issues with your Forever Series Pilot. This is definitely not the type of experience we want our customers to have. How long ago did you purchase this unit? I also wanted to check and see if you have contact our customer service department at 1-800-989-3535, to discuss the issues you are having.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oreck Forever™ Series Pilot Power Team

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Hers
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: The vacuum is light weight and easy to assemble. It picks up debris on all surfaces of my home. i like the ability to test drive it before making the final decision to keep it or not. i don't sneeze when I vacuum. I like the two separate vacuums so that I don't have to lug both around when doing only one task.
In between: It takes a bit to get used to in regards to the pivoting body. It will pivot even if you did not intend it to do so.
Cons: My husband states that he has had to cut hair out already and we haven't owned it that long. My thought is that at least it is picking up the dirt. The cost of the bags are a bit pricey.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not shut off as promised

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Chippie
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
One of the main reasons I bought this expensive Pilot was because they showed us in the showroom if you try to run over the cord or anything else it would shut off.. As usual, I ran over the cord a little bit and it did not shut off. Also, it would not shut off when we ran over fringe on a rug. It also does not vacuum shag rugs, as we have some throw rugs that are shag. It is quiet and moves good and easily.
Prosmoves good
Consdoes not shut off when you run over something
Response from OreckBy Devin B.Customer ServiceSeptember 11, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback on our Pilot. There is a sensor in the roller brush on this unit. When the roller brush stops moving at a certain RPM, then the sensor causes the unit to shut off. It is possible that the cord was not run over enough to cause the roller brush to slow.

We do have an attachment that you can use with the vacuum for thicker pile carpets or rugs like shag. This attachment provides a lift so the vacuum will move more easily across the carpet pile. This Pile Attachment is available by calling our Customer Service Department at 1-800-989-3535.

We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the vacuum's maneuverability!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read 1 comment
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bySally777
 
Please wait while more information about Sally777 is loaded.
Additional information about Sally777 could not be loaded.
onSeptember 13, 2012
Why in the world would you have to buy an attachment to be able to use this vacuum for thicker pile carpet. Mine is not shag, but thick and you have to have a crane to vacuum with this vacuum. If it is necessary to have an attachment why isn't it provided. I don't want to have to have an attachment to vacuum the biggest part of my flooring. RIDICULOUS.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read 1 comment
Review 7 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
lovemyoreck
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the BEST vacuum I have EVER owned. I love that it's self-propelled which helps a lot since I have lumber disc issues. It's so easy to navigate and it cleans like a dream! The only negative I can say about it is that it doesn't come with any attachments; however, I can't recommend this vacuum enough! If you can afford it, BUY IT...You won't be sorry!
Prosself-propelled
Consno attachments
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Other Oreck products I own
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Vacuum

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer avatar
mkimmich
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband got this vacuum for me as I am wheelchair bound and cannot maneuver the big vacuum we had with the on board tools. Since I enjoy vacuuming (and he does not), he got me this one. I love this vacuum!!! I have found I can even use it in place of our electric broom with the setting on high. It is light, maneuvers easily and is very attractive. The best part is the power! It really cleans.
Proslight weight, maneuvers easily, powerful
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Other Oreck products I own
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Of all 5 of the Oreck Vacs I have owned this is by far the best one yet!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Trixie
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight, goes everywhere you need a vac to go. I am disabled and housecleaning takes me all day. Vacumning was something I always put off for as long as possible, since purchasing this model I can clean every square inch of of my 3 bedroom home in under an hour.
The only drawback I have found is the cost of the bags.
Prosease of use, weight
Conspricey bags, side brushes aren't very durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Other Oreck products I own
Oreck Quest Canister Vac
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and Powerful!!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
probe164
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received my vacuum and wow! I never thought I would get excited about vacuuming and a sweeper for that matter.
I Immediately noticed the incredible power over my old bag-less unit. With the 360 glide feature, it feels like i'm racing a car around sharp bends. Very maneuverable around furniture.
The upright does not have all of those cumbersome attachments which contributes to the light weight. With that being said you know this unit was designed for one task only. I see that as benefit. Multi-function anything tends to be jack of all trades master of none. This unit has proven true of that.
Head to toe, this unit screams quality. From the solid base to the heavy durable vinyl bag. The power cable is routed through the handle which eliminates any chance of ripping the cable out of the base. The cable itself is wrapped in what appears to be a durable but flexible material.
I am a manager in the automotive field and use to be a mechanic, so I have a good eye for these things. You can certainly tell there was a lot of thought put into the design and engineering of this unit. The LED lights are a nice addition also.
The end result was amazing as well. The carpet looks as if I just had it professionally cleaned.
Great product, competitively priced, I strongly recommend this unit!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

oreck forever series pilot

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
lizzie123
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUST GOT MY NEW ORECK UPRIGHT. IT IS SO LIGHT AND EASY TO USE! AND IT GOES UNDER MY BED TOO! IT IS NICE TO HAVE THE TWO SPEEDS SO I DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT TOO MUCH SUCTION. AND THE CORD IS REALLY LONG!
Conswish the cord was retractable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The unit turns easily

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
growler
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this most expensive model & I hate it. After each room I vacuum I have to sit down with the unit upside down in my lap & pick out, pull out and cut out all the human hair, animal hair & debree wrapped around the beater-brush bar. When I contacted Oreck & informed them, they merely threw some xtra bags & an attachment at me & called it good. If I don't pick/pull/cut...the belt broke & I could smell the motor burning up, which prompted this routine to begin with. So if you have any hair on your head, a pet with fur or anything larger than dust...NO. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS OR ANY ORECK.
Prosit swivels
Conseverything
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy L GreerWeb MarketingMay 7, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the performance of the vacuum. I'm not sure if there is a roller brush that would not pick up these things as it is a function of the vacuum but if you are still unhappy please give our Customer Care Team another call and they can facilitate a return.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read 1 comment
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMikeS
 
Please wait while more information about MikeS is loaded.
Additional information about MikeS could not be loaded.
onJuly 26, 2012
After each room? I have an old dying vacuum from like 25 years ago at my house, and three dogs and four cats. I have to pick out hair from it like once a month (vacuuming every weekend). As a commercial cleaner I have been in contact with and used Oreck and their competitors bagless vacuums, both have superior suction, and good maneuverability, however they both have negatives, Orecks require bags, that are a little pricey, but it really does get all of the dust and allergens out of your house for good, plus i can actually vacuum under bunkbeds without getting caught by a bulky frame with the Oreck; Competitor vacuums are too bulky and complicated to use, plus they reintroduce pollen and dust into the air when you empty the canister.
+6points
6of 6voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read 1 comment
Review 13 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

absolutely the best vacuum we have ever owned.

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
justridnhog
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far the best vacuum we have ever owned. This is a five star unit, I love the way it picks up debris and how seamlessly the automatic drive works.
Prosthe weight the price and the length of the cord
Consnothing at all
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Atl12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this vacuum cleaner. After buying "disposable" vacuums my whole life I have to say since Ive owned an Orek I will never buy another cheapo. I love the self propelled feature and the 360 swivel head is always nice. The only thing I dont care for is that it requires bags and they get pretty smelly after a few uses. Other than that its a great product that I hope to have a very long time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy L GreerWeb MarketingFebruary 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review! If you haven't already tried the Odor Fighting Bags that may help with any odor from the bag between changes.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read 1 comment
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byktevi
 
Please wait while more information about ktevi is loaded.
Additional information about ktevi could not be loaded.
onMarch 7, 2012
I buy the Oreck Fresh tablets that you put in the bag--they are wonderful!!! No longer have to worry about nasty vacuum bag smell.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read 1 comment
Review 15 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pilot is easy to push

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
CraftyHoosier
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like the light weight of the Oreck Forever Series Pilot. I have many spine problems and have had 5 surgeries. I haven't been able to use my old vacuum for many years, my husband did the vacuuming. We decided to try an Oreck and boy are we glad we did. I can do the vacuuming now, it is so easy to push and maneuver . The swivel feature makes it very easy to get into corners. The Pilot is very powerful and makes easy work of cat hair and dander. This is one of the best purchases we have made in a while. I recommend Oreck to all of my friends especially the ones with back trouble. Changing the bag is very easy and there is no mess at all. I will always have an Oreck vacuum.
Proslight and easy to push
Conshaven't found one yet
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SL Oreck Forever Series Pilot Vacuum Cleaner Combo
This review is fromOreck Forever® Series Pilot.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent vacuum - can't be beat!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
JABSEA70
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This vacuum is wonderful. It makes a not-so-fun household chore much easier and manageable. I have degenerative disc disease in my back, and cannot handle bulky heavy vacuums any longer. While I am only middle-aged, it can slow me down; however, I appreciate the fact that not only am I able to vacuum my entire home, it does an excellent job of cleaning my carpets and filtering the air. My previous vacuum tended to stir up the dust, and this one does not. The filtration and suction are excellent. The premium bags also help filter out and completely neutralize that typical "vacuum bag" dust smell. It is also an added bonus that the vacuum comes with annual tune-ups to help ward off usual wear and tear. Just like a car - even home appliances like these need some maintenance to keep them at their peak operating level. The Oreck dealer in my area has been very helpful and the first tune-up was excellent - was completely cleaned - looked like it was brand new. Having the hand held cannister is helpful so as to not make the vacuum too heavy or bulky. I don't find that I need it much as the upright goes under and around everything I need it to. The swivel joint really helps take pressure off my wrists and elbows. It is so easy to use, and while I am still relatively young, it gives me a morale boost that I can do much more now without help, and without a doubt did not sacrifice quality or convenience. In fact, it by far is the best vacuum I've ever owned!
Prosease of use, quality, filtration, made in usa
Conswish had air scent cartridge slot
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.