Customer reviews for Oreck® Oreck® Magnesium® SP

Oreck® Oreck® Magnesium® SP

Oreck has introduced the lightest, full-powered upright vacuum cleaner in America. With its extremely strong, durable magnesium frame, the Magnesium® SP packs all the power you expect from an Oreck vacuum cleaner.
Overall rating:
3.973 / 5
4
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
54 out of 72(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Review 1 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Unhappy with purchase

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was looking for a light weight good machine and since it had very good reviews I bought it.The machine worked well for the first 6 months then after that the suction just went down to nothing.Took the machine into the Oreck shop to have a tune up and took it home and it was it little better but not great.So disappointed in this machine especially since I spent more money on this than I usually do for any vacuum.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smelly vacuum

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While I love the light weight of my Oreck, this vacuum stinks. I mean literally stinks. We have one dog and every time I vacuum the whole house reeks. I use Oreck Hepa bags and have tried using different powders to kill the stench but no luck. Never had a problem with my old Simplicity bagged vac.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

the quality of material sux

PostedJune 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the electric motor mount after 6 months of use crubmbled and caused the fan to wear down and I now have a 400 dollar useless vacuum
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy IanCustomer CareJune 28, 2015
Hi Mikey! There's no way your vacuum should fail-especially after only 6 months! Please take your Magnesium to one our our stores near you: http://bit.ly/1ePidpU so our technicians can make this right. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not vacuum anything but dust

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
everything gets caught in it. got some small piece of plastic caught up in the belt, now under service. makes noise on carpets. difficult to use the on and off button, does not clean well otherwise.
Prosweight
Conseverything else
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly engineered, poor quality parts and workmanship

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We purchased the Magnesium a year ago and had to return it to the store a week later because a part broke. We took it for a 12 mo maintenance in June 2014 and were told the bottom plate would soon have to be replaced (at our cost). The cord storage is very inconvenient and requires bending over--not good for a bad back. The cord also gets in the way when vacuuming. The swivel is a good idea; however it is not executed well in this vacuum. This is the 3rd Oreck that we've owned--each one lasted for more than 12 years. The Magnesium in no way compares to the Oreck XL. The Magnesium is lighter weight than the XL; however, not worth the $499 price tag. We will most probably have to replace the Magnesium in the next year or two. The Magnesium is a huge disappointment. Do not recommend it!
Proslight weight
Conspoorly engineered, cheap parts, won't last very long, does not meet expectations, not up to oreck standards
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved Oreck...until I bought this vacuum

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I owned an Oreck XL for over eight years and it was, by far, the best vacuum I had ever purchased. When it came time to buy a new vacuum last year, I wanted another Oreck and bought the Magnesium SP. What a disappointment! The majority of my vacuuming is on hard-surface floors, and it does a poor job of cleaning them. It moves dirt and dust around more than it picks it up. When it does pick up, it clogs very easily -- I've spent countless hours clearing out clogs from the system -- never an issue with my old Oreck. Another problem is the power cord placement -- because of the design, I have to loop it around the top to keep from running over it. In short, I've been really disappointed with this vacuum. Not only would I not recommend it to others, I'm planning to look elsewhere for my next vacuum.
Proslightweight
Conspoor suction, easily clogs, poor power cord design
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Oreck Ever

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Zazu
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned several Oreck vacuums. (this would be my fifth). If I didn't know this was an Oreck, I would never have believed it. It feels cheaply made and is poorly designed. I had it only the first day when I noticed that the cord clasp on top does not hold the cord. It just kept falling out. After about 5 months, I was using it and the belt under the head snapped. My Oreck owners manual calls this an "Endurolife" belt which never has to be replaced. Well not only did it break, it was a coslty repair. I also noticed that the sweeper blade underneath the vacuum had completely disintegrated. I also had to have that replaced. I could not be more dissatisfied with this vacuum. Do yourself a favor and save your money!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The 7 year warranty does not cover labor !

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
ala27
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst vacuum cleaner ever. The manufacturer advertises it will shut off if something gets in its way but it doesn't. I had to PAY $80 to fix it - the extended warranty of 7 years doesn't cover labor. (I got it as a birthday gift from my aunt 6 months ago-she wasted a lot of money).
Prosweight
Conscustomer service
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reliability poor

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
genopower
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our 12 year old Oreck XL finally lost it's ooph so we went with this product as it looked well designed and was light. It worked well, once. The 2nd time (2 days later) we used it my wife complained that it was blowing the dirt around instead of picking it up. I tried and and it did the same thing. I gave it the once over and couldn't find any obvious issues, brush spinning, bag filling up nicely etc. We sent it back. Oreck was good about it and paid for the shipping. We went with the Founder's model as it is like our old XL and 1/2 the cost.
My wife did not like the switch down on the stalk.
Prosweight
Consdurability
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Magnesium

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Nurse2010
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Got it home and when we tried to vacuum, it kept shutting off and the front light then kept blinking. Note: This is only supposed to happen when you pick up a sock or thread or something. However, we just had our carpet cleaned and nothing was picked up.
We examined the roller to make sure and nothing was wound around the roller.
Obviously, a defective product, which means quality control at the factory was poor. We are taking it back to the dealer for a refund and to get our old XL back that was working fine and was in for a tune-up only.
Proslightweight
Consdoesn't work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy Jeremiah GrahamWeb MarketingAugust 6, 2012
Ann, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the Magnesium. I assure you this is not typical with this product and definitely the type of experience we want our customers to have. Did the dealer check out the Magnesium to see what was causing the issue?
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed....

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
mountainsmist
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned an Oreck for the past 13 yrs. I just recently purchased this product. I am not happy with the performance of this machine. The up right seems cheaply made and I can see dust and carpet fibers all over the casing and up the handle after the first use. The hand held machine's strap broke on me the first use. It is made of plastic. The extended handle is too short and I am 5'2 and I have to bend to vacuum?(WHAT?.?) The hose has no curve to it my wrist stung while vacuuming. I took the older models handle and hose and floor attachment and have put it on the new machine. It worked better after exchanging parts. I really don't like the upright either. I have to turn it on and off a lot (double click) just to move a piece of furniture I have to turn it off. You can't just set the handle up and move it ,you have to turn it off??? I don't like the 2 speed button it is annoying.Plus you have to put your foot on the front to get the handle to release. I loved the older kind where you just pulled it back and it came down. Less steps to do, to vacuum. Over all I just want to return it and purchase the Oreck that looks and acts like my older ones.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy L GreerWeb MarketingMarch 14, 2012
I'm sorry you are not happy with the Magnesium Power Team Combo and based on your feedback it sounds like a Forever Series Gold might be the better model to meet your needs. Please contact our Customer Care Team at 1-800-989-3535 so that they can facilitate the return of the Magnesium and getting a more traditionally styled model on it's way to you.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Somewhat Disappointed

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We just purchased a new Magnesium SP. Putting it into use was extremely easy. My wife really enjoys the lightweight design, especially
after using a Kirby for many years. It does seem to have adequate suction power; however, we are really concerned about the quality and durability. For a vacuum with a $500. MSRP the materials seem very cheap. The power switch appears to be about a 15 cent component. You use the switch obviously at every use. I do not expect it to last a year. My in laws purchased an Oreck a few years back and it is of superior quality. We are definitely disappointed in this product. We only hope that it lasts longer than expected.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor warranty. Pines over Xmas jammed the system. Had to pay

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this as a tool to help clean the house. I purchased it just before Xmas 2013. I used it to clean the pines that fell of the Xmas tree. I admit it was a lot of debris but this was a new vacuum with less than a month in use. I was charged over $50 for a new part, that I abused according to , "the technician here in the Naples Florida store".
I have had Oreck products for years. I contacted the headquarters who told me the technician in the field is basically the bottom line. This is my bottom line.. my bad..never again will I purchase an Oreck product.
I served in the Military for over 30 years. I hope every Veteran who reads this message understands this happened to me a former Command Sergeant Major. I can't guarantee a better or worse experience but I can advise you to be weary.
Prosthe store personnel are friendly
Conswarranty after 30 days or so
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy IanCustomer CareFebruary 10, 2014
Hi CSM67, generally cleanings are not covered under our warranty or tune up agreements. We do understand where you're coming from with this however. We're sending you a private email so that we can better assist you. Thanks!

+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unsatisfied After 25 Years

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
SuzieQ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have used Oreck bagged vacuums for over 25 years. My last vacuum, my third, was the Platinum XL Vacuum purchased in 2009. I was so impress by this vacuum that before I finished using it for the first time I called the Oreck's customer service to tell them "... it practically vacuums by itself..".
When it came time to purchase another vacuum I chose an Oreck. I chose the Oreck® Magnesium® SP on May 29, 2003. These are my initial findings.
CON
The operating control is not on the handle as in the Platinum but on the body of the vacuum. To turn it off you stop vacuuming, raise the handle, take you hand off the handle and press the off button. Poor design.
CON
The cord is lower on the Magnesium, close to the power head, where the brushes are. Since vacuuming is a back and forth motion I kept running over the power cord. Poor design. I solved this problem by stringing the power cord thru the handle.
CON
I really liked the bag pocket on the out bag of the Platinum. It was very handy to store cleaning tools I use while vacuuming. There is no bag pocket on the Magnesium.
PRO
The Magnesium is very light weight.
PRO
The Magnesium does a much better job on the carpeting by the base board. In my opinion this is a big plus sing I don't need to use the handheld to clean this area as I did with the Platinum.
Proscleaning carpeting by the base board.
Consclumsily operation of power switch, power cord is poorly placed
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very poor design

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Letdown
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
I took my Oreck XL in for service and fell for the sales pitch on the Magnesium. Since I had had problems with the belt on the XL, I made the switch. The Magnesium is a real disappointment -- the power switch is very difficult to use; the power cord coming from the bottom of the machine gets in the way (either dragging in the step of the user or the vacuum); there is no storage pocket for papers related to the vacuum of supplies such as scented tablets; it is difficult to cover the tracks of the vacuum. Wish I had my XL back!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy Oreck CorporationJuly 25, 2012
Hello! Thanks for your review. In regards to the issue with your cord, I think we may be able to help. There is a small blue clip on the back of the vacuum near the top of the handle that is designed to keep the cord out of the way. Try using that to prevent future issues. As for the power switch, we've addressed this issue in product development and the switch for our new Magnesium to be released in September will be in the handle. Thanks again for the feedback.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed in this purchase

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just received my Magnesium vacuum today. I have to say I was disappointed. I like that it is lighter than my previous Oreck vacuum. But, I think the light on the new one is useless! Why even put a light on it?! Also, having the on/off button on the back of the handle is not desirable. And having to push it twice to turn it off just tells me that the button will definitely wear out quickly. What were you thinking, Oreck?? I'm glad I didn't pay full price for it, but I can see myself going back to the original one, even though it is a little bit heavier.
Proslightweight
Conson/off button, light is useless
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Other Oreck products I own
 
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Worked well, but only lasted 6 years.

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Vacuum has continued to fall apart. I would not buy another Oreck. Also the "free" products that came with it lasted a few months. Terrible craftsmanship.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Saw product in store

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
wayneswife
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Saw product in store when I went to get my tune up on mine. Like the fact that it's lighter, but what I really like is the wheels. Makes it easier to move from one location to another. Wish all your products had that. Also, need to change "push button" to a switch. That doesn't seem to want to "connect" as well and I bet over time will wear out. Will wait til new product comes out in fall before I decide to purchase. As we get older wheels sure are a lot easier. Never figured out why the other models didn't have them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Seems Flimsy

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Jakester
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A little too light to do a heavy duty job on my carpets
Proslight gets under things
Consnot deep cleaning, seems flimsy not tight
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oreck® Magnesium® SP
This review is fromSL Oreck Magnesium Vacuum Combo.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

If it's not broken...

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
MissyV13
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I LOVE the fact that this is lightweight but for the money would have hoped for at LEAST a spare bag...
The performance is decent but my older Orecks BLEW this away IMO...HALO was the BOMB but discontinued..
The warranty is good to have BUT anytime I tried to take one of my old vacs to Oreck in Chicago, they couldn't fix a vac that was ordered "online" HUH? and gave suggestions as to the "new" one you could buy for a trade...
I have owned Orecks for almost 20 years ... sadly this will be my last!
Proslightweight, streamlined design
Conshandle pull down, made in china
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Other Oreck products I own
 
Response from OreckBy L GreerWeb MarketingMay 15, 2012
I am sorry that you are disappointed in your new Magnesium vacuum. If you prefer a model that is more closely designed to the older models I would recommend exchanging it for the Forever Series Gold which has a Limited Lifetime Warranty. Additionally if you need assistance with a repair or warranty coverage please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team. Your warranty is good for Oreck vacuums purchased directly on the web, phone, retailers or at Oreck Stores.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>