Customer reviews for New! Oreck® VersaVac™

New! Oreck® VersaVac™

Meet Oreck's newest, most versatile vacuum: The VersaVac™, a full-powered bagless vacuum cleaner that is also a steam mop.
Overall rating:
3.103 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
11 out of 23(48%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Review 1 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

RUN don't walk to another choice!

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't usually write reviews but I am SO disappointed with this product that I am making an exception. And the only reason I'm giving 1 star is because I can't give 0.
My husband purchased this for me as a surprise when my other brand steam mop (which I had for over 5 years) was broken by someone I loaned it to. I wouldn't pay 20 bucks for this piece of junk much less the amount of money I know my husband shelled out for it.
The cord is on the wrong side for a right-handed person so you either have to push with your left hand or have the cord wrapped around the back of the machine in front of you so you can push with your right hand and hold the cord with your left hand.
The vacuum part is so useless .. it picks up absolutely nothing and if it does manage to pick up something it just deposits it in the next area you are trying to vacuum. This was supposed to be a quick clean up between weekly cleanings but it's useless. I can't imagine someone using this as their main vacuum. My 10 year old son does a better with a broom than this does.
The steam mop streaks and believe me my floors are not filthy. I mop 3 times a week. Also the head is far too big and won't fit under cabinets or in tight spaces. What? The designers think we don't need to mop in small spaces?! Also the part that holds the mop pad warps. Customer service did replace it for us but the 2nd one warped within weeks.
All I can say to Oreck is ... back to the drawing board.
To potential consumers I say ... make a different choice. This is too much money for such a big disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got mine and I love it and I love how it is so lightweight and such a long cord. I can go from vacuuming the carpet to the linoleum in a breeze.
Prosthe suction it has
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VersaVac review after one year

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was disappointed overall. I replaced my carpet with composite floors and bought the VersaVac to have for the steam cleaning addition.I find that the vacuum doesn't work as well as my old Oreck (Oreck XL21), and have to use both to get a good clean floor. The VersaVac seems heavier, and harder to push when using the steam feature. More often than not for vacuuming now I go back to my original handheld Oreck that I got in combination with my XL21. I've tried other brands, and while none of them beat Oreck quality overall, I'm just not as happy with the VersaVac. Vaccum suction isn't as strong as the XL21, and just seems to scatter the sand and dirt around. It's not good with dog hair either.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not perform as advertised

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I usually do not write reviews, but this time I will make an exception. I have had the versa vac for about two years and I must say those two years of trying to use this product have nothing but frustrating. This appliance is supposed to save time. Not so much; instead of cleaning my floors I spend my time attempting to unclog it (yes, I am using distilled water) and when that does not work I then spend my time taking it to be serviced. In my personal opinion this is not money or time well spent.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantistic Machine

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with the performance of this great machine.
Will never go back to those big heavy vacuum's with all
those accessories attached to it.
I have not used the steamer function yet.
I do wish it had a cord rewind and a clip somewhere to
hold the handle, while in storage, but can live without it.
Proscompact, weight, carpet cleaning, notch on cord hook for lenght adjustment
Consperfer red over blue. just kiddin.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not perform...did I get a dud?

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have used & loved Oreck vacuums for over 20 yrs. Just received a recent order with this product as well as the shampooer. Have not tried the latter but am thoroughly disappointed...set up exactly according to directions & the trouble shooting recommendations. No steam when the indicator light was ready, no saturation of pad, no cleaning accomplished!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work as expected or as suggested

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased this product because we have hardwood and other hard surface flooring. Thought it would be ideal for our situation; however, unless distilled water is used in the steamer it will clog very quickly with mineral deposits. Also my wife found it very difficult to push the pad across the floor, even when wet. I think the concept is excellent, and the product seemed well built. But I didn't work as I expected it too. I was disappointed. Was very pleased with Oreck customer service. We tried it for a couple of weeks, didn't like it. Returned it on Oreck's dime and got all my money back. Now we are shopping for a different Oreck product. I am very please with Oreck's customer service, just not with this specific product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Other Oreck products I own
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
my machine is only 5 months old and locked up. The roller will no longer turn. It started smelling hot 2 months ago even though after each use i cleaned the bin, filter and roller. This is not the Oreck quality i was used to in my other Oreck machines.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Vacuum, Steamer Does Not Work

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The vacuum is a good value considering the cost of other vacuums, however the steam function does not work. If you don't care about the steam function working then I would recommend this vacuum. The price is still better than most vacuums and so far it has been good for 3 months... It's a good vacuum for low density carpets. Hair gets caught up in the roller though and I have to cut it out, but other than that it works. Probably not the best thing out there but certainly not the worst.
Thanks for reading.
Prosvacuum
Conssteamer doesn't work
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk!!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had 2 Oreck Vacuum cleaners and loved them!! I bought this machine with that in mind. It is the biggest piece of junk!! Spent $250.00 and steam comes out of it for 3 minutes and then none!! Have taken it in to my local Oreck store countless times and they always tell me there's nothing wrong. Am extremely disappointed, especially for the price I paid!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Vacuum is great have had no problems. The steam cleaner part works for a while then stops. I am on my third vacuum in a year and a half.
Prosvacumn
Conssteam cleaner
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The steam aspect of the Versa Vac is horribly ineffective

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
I was excited to purchase this item almost a year ago. Since then I have attempted to use the steam vac with no luck. There is no visible steam (waited for the steam ready light to come on), the pad does not even get wet so the floor does not get wet, never mind steam cleaned. This product was brought to an Oreck authorized dealer in Plymouth, MA who said there was nothing wrong with it. I would return this product in a heart beat, the vacuum works well but as other reviewers the dust bin is small and requires frequent & messy emptying. I will be gong back to the dependable mop & pail and my Sears vacuum.
Prossize and ease of movement
Conssteam machine, there is not side suction on the vac
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an excellent bagless vacuum cleaner.

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Bagsz29
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent bagless vacuum cleaner. Very lightweight, easy to use and powerful. Emptying the dust box won't dirty your hands....very nice design. And what more, it looks good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great if you don't own an Oreck vac already

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a quick vac, this is great. It sort of voids my current Oreck vac. It also has a lock in steam feature that makes it easy for my arthritis. The steam output is the greatest that I have seen. However, I have porcelain tiles and it glides too easy. I wish there was a choice of steam bonnets so I can order one with more grip. Note, I have 2 herniated discs, bad hips and arthritis so I bought it for ease of us. I end up having to make two many passes to clean smudges and black marks. This puts my shoulder out for days. I cannot go down on my knees to scrub. I need more grip on the first few passes. Please make a better griping bonnet as a choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My finance surprised me today and bought me the VersaVac and I was so excited. I used it as soon as I got home to vacuum my hard wood floors and carpet and wasn't impressed at all. It was so loud for one and even louder as it rolled on the floor. The head of the vac is so big that it doesn't fit under anything. My little swiftervac on the other hand fits under my couch, stove, and tv stand. Also it is a lot easier to maneuver around. The VersaVac is hard to get in small spaces. As far as the steamer, I thought it did a great job getting my floors clean but it was so hard to push around. Even after the cloth was wet it was still very hard to push around and I felt like I had to go really slow the whole time.
I really wish they would come out with a smaller head on the vac so it can fit into and under smaller places. Also, they should figure out how to make the wheels not so loud when it rolls around. My neighbors below me must have been annoyed listening to me do my whole apt.
Prossteamer cleans very well, vacuum on carpet picks up well, nice long cord, easy dust and water canister
Consvacuum is way too loud, makes too much noise when vacuuming hard floors, too heavy when using the steamer
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toss the broom, toss the mop & bucket. This is the one!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Throw away your broom, mop and bucket and get a Versavac.
Seriously. Just buy it. My floors have never looked better, and the effort to get them there has never been less. I generally hate doing my floors, but the Versavac really takes the sting out of it. Makes hard floors as easy to maintain as carpet. Great combo product, no need to make allowances for either functionality. The surprisingly powerful vacuum quickly gets up the dirt, dust and dog hair. While the steamer does a great job of cleaning, sanitizing and drying. Converting between the two is easily done in a matter of seconds. I love that there are various steam settings, which makes me much more confident using the steamer on my sealed hardwood floors. (I had a small disaster with another non-adjustable steamer.).
The long cord is the best feature you didn't know you needed. I'm able to clean a large area without much unplugging/re-plugging. I've seen a few complaints about the difficulty of pushing the steamer. It does require a little strength, but no more so than any other steamer I've ever used -- they're always tough when starting with a dry pad. My advice is to wet your pad with warm water first, then wring it until barely damp. That will get you past the pushing a dry pad phase and make the job easier from the beginning.
Proseasy conversion between vac & steamer, powerful vacuum, adjustable steam setting, long cord (increased cleaning range)
Consnothing. it's great!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Excellent features.

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product. The VersaVac solves my cleaning needs. My kitchen floor is ceramic tile, my living room floor is hardwood, and my bathroom is linoleum. The VersaVac cleans each floor with ease and people coming to my house notice how clean everything looks.
I am telling my friends to buy this excellent vac.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plain n simple "a really nice product"

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer avatar
TinKnocker
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First of all the vac is not heavy, maybe 10 lbs.. Second, the vacuum part is awesome, it sucked up my x-wife's long hair and I kicked her out of here over 10 years ago! Third, the steam part is fantastic, I have unpolished porcelain tile and the steamer made it look brand new! It won't do much for the grout but I knew that going Into it. The whole thing breaks down easy to clean and maintain so the service dept. probably won't be seeing me any time soon. I would def recommend this machine to anybody who has multi-floor coverings.
Proseverything
Consnothing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love this machine but.......

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Nikki
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The vacuum part of this machine is awesome, it's just a great, must have tool around the house but the steam part of it is horrible, it's so hard to push, I've only used it twice and it hurts my hand. I feel pain on my four fingers because I really had to push so hard to get the job done.
I do not want to return this machine, Is there any solution to this problem? Please help, thanks.
Prosvacuums great and quite, operates easily
Consvery hard to push when steaming
Response from OreckBy JeremiahWeb MarketingApril 10, 2013
What type of floor surface are you trying to steam? In some cases, depending on the floor type if the unit has not steamed up enough it can be difficult to push. The more saturated the pad becomes through the steaming, should ease up the difficulty to push.
+26points
33of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serious multitasker

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
emihill
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Talk about multitasking! I love the VersaVac because it's two cleaning solutions in one. I'm all about simplifying my life, which includes my cleaning closet, and the VersaVac does just that.
Now let’s get serious. Here’s what I love about the VersaVac:
* Transition time from vacuum to mop (and back again) happens quick as a flash.
* Water tank fills easily in the kitchen sink.
* Extra long cord comes in handy.
* Steam mop does a great job on a variety of floors.
* Rollerbrush can be turned off when all you need is suction (e.g, crumbs on a hardwood floor).
* No extra cleaning supplies needed like floor cleaner, mops and buckets.
Here’s what I don’t love:
* Extra long cord sometimes gets in the way.
* Bagless vacuum container is on the smaller side, which means an extra trip or two to empty it.
All in all, I'm so glad we finally replaced our 15-year-old bag vacuum with the Oreck VersaVac. Best decision ever (next to marrying my husband, of course).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>