Customer reviews for New! Oreck® VersaVac™

New! Oreck® VersaVac™

Meet Oreck's newest, most versatile vacuum: The VersaVac™, a full-powered bagless vacuum cleaner that is also a steam mop.
Overall rating:
3.318 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
9 out of 16(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Review 1 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
my machine is only 5 months old and locked up. The roller will no longer turn. It started smelling hot 2 months ago even though after each use i cleaned the bin, filter and roller. This is not the Oreck quality i was used to in my other Oreck machines.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Vacuum, Steamer Does Not Work

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The vacuum is a good value considering the cost of other vacuums, however the steam function does not work. If you don't care about the steam function working then I would recommend this vacuum. The price is still better than most vacuums and so far it has been good for 3 months... It's a good vacuum for low density carpets. Hair gets caught up in the roller though and I have to cut it out, but other than that it works. Probably not the best thing out there but certainly not the worst.
Thanks for reading.
Prosvacuum
Conssteamer doesn't work
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk!!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had 2 Oreck Vacuum cleaners and loved them!! I bought this machine with that in mind. It is the biggest piece of junk!! Spent $250.00 and steam comes out of it for 3 minutes and then none!! Have taken it in to my local Oreck store countless times and they always tell me there's nothing wrong. Am extremely disappointed, especially for the price I paid!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Vacuum is great have had no problems. The steam cleaner part works for a while then stops. I am on my third vacuum in a year and a half.
Prosvacumn
Conssteam cleaner
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The steam aspect of the Versa Vac is horribly ineffective

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
I was excited to purchase this item almost a year ago. Since then I have attempted to use the steam vac with no luck. There is no visible steam (waited for the steam ready light to come on), the pad does not even get wet so the floor does not get wet, never mind steam cleaned. This product was brought to an Oreck authorized dealer in Plymouth, MA who said there was nothing wrong with it. I would return this product in a heart beat, the vacuum works well but as other reviewers the dust bin is small and requires frequent & messy emptying. I will be gong back to the dependable mop & pail and my Sears vacuum.
Prossize and ease of movement
Conssteam machine, there is not side suction on the vac
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an excellent bagless vacuum cleaner.

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Bagsz29
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent bagless vacuum cleaner. Very lightweight, easy to use and powerful. Emptying the dust box won't dirty your hands....very nice design. And what more, it looks good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great if you don't own an Oreck vac already

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a quick vac, this is great. It sort of voids my current Oreck vac. It also has a lock in steam feature that makes it easy for my arthritis. The steam output is the greatest that I have seen. However, I have porcelain tiles and it glides too easy. I wish there was a choice of steam bonnets so I can order one with more grip. Note, I have 2 herniated discs, bad hips and arthritis so I bought it for ease of us. I end up having to make two many passes to clean smudges and black marks. This puts my shoulder out for days. I cannot go down on my knees to scrub. I need more grip on the first few passes. Please make a better griping bonnet as a choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My finance surprised me today and bought me the VersaVac and I was so excited. I used it as soon as I got home to vacuum my hard wood floors and carpet and wasn't impressed at all. It was so loud for one and even louder as it rolled on the floor. The head of the vac is so big that it doesn't fit under anything. My little swiftervac on the other hand fits under my couch, stove, and tv stand. Also it is a lot easier to maneuver around. The VersaVac is hard to get in small spaces. As far as the steamer, I thought it did a great job getting my floors clean but it was so hard to push around. Even after the cloth was wet it was still very hard to push around and I felt like I had to go really slow the whole time.
I really wish they would come out with a smaller head on the vac so it can fit into and under smaller places. Also, they should figure out how to make the wheels not so loud when it rolls around. My neighbors below me must have been annoyed listening to me do my whole apt.
Prossteamer cleans very well, vacuum on carpet picks up well, nice long cord, easy dust and water canister
Consvacuum is way too loud, makes too much noise when vacuuming hard floors, too heavy when using the steamer
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toss the broom, toss the mop & bucket. This is the one!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Throw away your broom, mop and bucket and get a Versavac.
Seriously. Just buy it. My floors have never looked better, and the effort to get them there has never been less. I generally hate doing my floors, but the Versavac really takes the sting out of it. Makes hard floors as easy to maintain as carpet. Great combo product, no need to make allowances for either functionality. The surprisingly powerful vacuum quickly gets up the dirt, dust and dog hair. While the steamer does a great job of cleaning, sanitizing and drying. Converting between the two is easily done in a matter of seconds. I love that there are various steam settings, which makes me much more confident using the steamer on my sealed hardwood floors. (I had a small disaster with another non-adjustable steamer.).
The long cord is the best feature you didn't know you needed. I'm able to clean a large area without much unplugging/re-plugging. I've seen a few complaints about the difficulty of pushing the steamer. It does require a little strength, but no more so than any other steamer I've ever used -- they're always tough when starting with a dry pad. My advice is to wet your pad with warm water first, then wring it until barely damp. That will get you past the pushing a dry pad phase and make the job easier from the beginning.
Proseasy conversion between vac & steamer, powerful vacuum, adjustable steam setting, long cord (increased cleaning range)
Consnothing. it's great!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Excellent features.

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product. The VersaVac solves my cleaning needs. My kitchen floor is ceramic tile, my living room floor is hardwood, and my bathroom is linoleum. The VersaVac cleans each floor with ease and people coming to my house notice how clean everything looks.
I am telling my friends to buy this excellent vac.
Prosease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plain n simple "a really nice product"

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer avatar
TinKnocker
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First of all the vac is not heavy, maybe 10 lbs.. Second, the vacuum part is awesome, it sucked up my x-wife's long hair and I kicked her out of here over 10 years ago! Third, the steam part is fantastic, I have unpolished porcelain tile and the steamer made it look brand new! It won't do much for the grout but I knew that going Into it. The whole thing breaks down easy to clean and maintain so the service dept. probably won't be seeing me any time soon. I would def recommend this machine to anybody who has multi-floor coverings.
Proseverything
Consnothing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love this machine but.......

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Nikki
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The vacuum part of this machine is awesome, it's just a great, must have tool around the house but the steam part of it is horrible, it's so hard to push, I've only used it twice and it hurts my hand. I feel pain on my four fingers because I really had to push so hard to get the job done.
I do not want to return this machine, Is there any solution to this problem? Please help, thanks.
Prosvacuums great and quite, operates easily
Consvery hard to push when steaming
Response from OreckBy JeremiahWeb MarketingApril 10, 2013
What type of floor surface are you trying to steam? In some cases, depending on the floor type if the unit has not steamed up enough it can be difficult to push. The more saturated the pad becomes through the steaming, should ease up the difficulty to push.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serious multitasker

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
emihill
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Talk about multitasking! I love the VersaVac because it's two cleaning solutions in one. I'm all about simplifying my life, which includes my cleaning closet, and the VersaVac does just that.
Now let’s get serious. Here’s what I love about the VersaVac:
* Transition time from vacuum to mop (and back again) happens quick as a flash.
* Water tank fills easily in the kitchen sink.
* Extra long cord comes in handy.
* Steam mop does a great job on a variety of floors.
* Rollerbrush can be turned off when all you need is suction (e.g, crumbs on a hardwood floor).
* No extra cleaning supplies needed like floor cleaner, mops and buckets.
Here’s what I don’t love:
* Extra long cord sometimes gets in the way.
* Bagless vacuum container is on the smaller side, which means an extra trip or two to empty it.
All in all, I'm so glad we finally replaced our 15-year-old bag vacuum with the Oreck VersaVac. Best decision ever (next to marrying my husband, of course).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Islander
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had high hopes for this product. I have several Oreck air purifiers and have been very happy with them. I wish I had returned this within the 30 day limit. The vacuum is weak, very weak. You can make several passes on a little piece of lint or string and it won't pick it up. Also, the canister is so big that you can't get under furniture. I had planned this to be used as just a touching up vacuum but can't even use it as that. Also, it's very loud.
Conslousy vacuum
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

In a word: Cumbersome

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Steamed
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The first thing I noticed about this machine is that it is heavy. It is heavy even before water is put in it. I was told by the salesman that I could expect it to self propel to almost the the same extent that my XL does... it doesn't self propel at all. I get the feeling that there is no lack of power per say, but it is certainly not as easy to use when vacuuming. Steaming however is the real downfall. To be honest, I can not imagine pushing that heavy, cumbersome thing around to clean my entire kitchen. It is very hard to push due to the weight of the machine, and the steam pads which provide a great deal of superfluous traction. The dials are on the front of the main unit, so they are out of reach and difficult to fiddle with in mid cleaning. You either have to go around the front of it, or bend over the machine and use them upside-down. The bottom line is that I am confident that I could whip out my XL and my regular ol' steam mop and in the end it would have been half the effort it is to use this VersaVac. I've owned this vacuum less than an hour, and if it wasn't past 5pm I would already have my return shipping label. Great concept, exceptionally disappointing execution.
Consheavy, hard to push, cumbersome
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from OreckBy Jeremiah GrahamWeb MarketingJanuary 7, 2013
I am sorry to hear you are not satisfied with the new Oreck VersaVac. In regards to the steam pad causing issues with pushing the unit. Just to make sure, you have made sure the pad is dampened sufficiently, and the unit says that the steam function is ready. This will ensure the unit moves around your flooring easily.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product-easy to use

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Heather
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
The VersaVac is a great product. Not only is it a good vacuum, but works great on hardwood and tile. Easiest machine I have ever used when it comes to transitioning from one type of floor to another. Lightweight, easy to use, really nice long cord, and very easy to add water for the steamer. It has an easy empty canister which can be emptied with one hand. I would recommend this product to anyone. It has eliminated the need to haul and store many different tools. The VersaVac is all I need.
Prosease of use
Consa little hard to push on hardwood.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's going back

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
shortonesmom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I might be the only person that is not thrilled with this product. What I initially thought of as a negative - no trade in for my old Oreck because of product price point - I now see as a bonus. I bought it because I wanted to try a bagless vacuum. The best feature is unlike my Oreck XL, this fits under the cabinets to vacuum bare floors. The steam feature also works very well on tile. The negative list is a bit longer. I tried using this vacuum after vacuuming with my Oreck XL. Very little additional dirt/dust was picked up and most of it stuck to the exterior of the canister when I emptied it, resulting in having to wet wipe down the canister. The handle is not a good fit. No matter where I begin holding it, my hand slides up to and bumps up against the steam button. Having arthritis in my index finger makes this uncomfortable. It does steam the tile fine, but does nothing with the grout .
Prosfits under cabinets
Consuncomfortable handle, messy emptying canister, does not clean grout between tiles, does not clean better than my old vacuum
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
17of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read 1 comment
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byGeorge51049
 
Please wait while more information about George51049 is loaded.
Additional information about George51049 could not be loaded.
onNovember 15, 2012
This cleaner has no adjustment for different size pile. If you have a heavy pile the brush will stop and it very hard to push. The reason for a brush on any vacuum is to clean the pile on carpets. Rollers are Not needed for hard surface. This should be stated in the advertising that it is only for short pile. Guess it's going back.
-2points
3of 8voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read 1 comment
Review 18 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best vacuum/steam cleaner I've ever owned!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
aggiemom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased with the overall ease and thoroughness of the vacuum and steam cleaner. There are no bulky attachments, the vacuum is excellent, and changing over to the steam cleaner is quick and simple. I did not find the machine hard to push at all - the pads on the steam cleaner are thick and don't slide as easily as the vacuum, but not enough to have a negative impact.
Prosease of use, thoroughness of cleaning
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
30of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Space & Money Saver

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Veronica
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There's a lot I love about the VersaVac. No more mop and bucket, no more floor cleaning solutions, no more purchasing mop heads, extra space in the closet, no more soaking wet floors for my toddler to slip on, and no more underperforming vacuum :)
The steam mop and vacuum functions work equally well. I know a lot of 2 n 1 products usually have underperformance on one end but not the VersaVac. I truly love it and am a diehard Oreck fan after living with it for a few months.
+18points
25of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for New! Oreck® VersaVac™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A quick cleanup pro

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
UglyDucklingHouse
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Read my full review at http://www.uglyducklinghouse.com/2012/09/oreck-versavac-review-giveaway.html
GREAT with quick cleanups on hard floors. I have a dog, so I need to clean up both pet hair and muddy footprints. Glad to have a tool that can so easily do both. Product was clearly made with the right customer profile in mind: busy, convenience-driven, and smart.
Pros: long cord (people forget how nice this is to have until they don't), easy water tank fill-up (right under the sink); cannister for the vac opens with a bottom hinge into the trash (no dust cloud from dumping it over); steam is ready quickly and does not leave standing water from drips
Cons: container for the vac is a little small, requiring frequent trips to the trash; requires a little muscle to push across the floor on steam settings (though once you get started it gets easier)
Proslong cord, easy water tank fill-up, works on hard floors and carpet or rugs
Conssmall vacuum canister
 
Other Oreck products I own
 
+36points
46of 56voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>